9 Comments

Thank you SO much for posting this question, Shannon. I've heard quite a few kids tell me they plan on abstaining from voting, which makes my stomach drop. The main reasons are that they 1) aren't inspired by the choices or 2) know Trump is a disaster but refuse to support Biden based on a core issue (which is usually the war in Gaza).

I've been trying to walk a delicate line of encouraging critical thinking but also speaking from experience that the stakes couldn't be higher. All while being keenly aware that kids typically don't want to hear it from us oldsters. Any advice from fellow parents is very welcome.

Expand full comment

Mom of two teen boys. My advice is: take the time to teach them. Keep talking to them about it. PBS, Ken Burns, and Audible are your friends. Heath Cox Richardson's book is sitting on my Senior's desk. I also make them listen to her on long drives.

Too many young people, and people in general, who say they will sit it out because they are "not inspired" did not learn from any history lesson re: WWII. Epic fail in education. Americans voted for FDR for a 4th time, FOURTH, not because he was terribly inspiring as he was nearing death but because they trusted him. Because he delivered for the American people over and over and they never forgot. Our national attention span is that of a gnat. We must message the hell out of trust and accomplishment. Make them remember that Biden is trustworthy and what he has done for them. We are not voting for the most entering influencer on Instagram. Same failure of education on Israel & Gaza. Blaming Biden for the horror show that is the Middle East is like blaming the sun for being hot. What they will lose is SO much greater than what they are not "inspired by".

Expand full comment

I am a parent, yet I don’t face this issue as my kids are all grown. However, I’ll offer up this, if your newly minted voter and their friends talk of sitting it out for one issue or another, explain that it could be the last election that happens in this country. What this generation of voters perhaps are not seeing is that what is on the horizon and the ballot is Fascism. Help them understand what that portends. Agree that the choices are shitty, because they are. But if they want the freedoms, liberty and rights that our Democracy provides, if your daughter wants her bodily autonomy restored they must step up. Only Biden can expand the court, only a Democratically controlled Congress can impeach Thomas and Alito. Or codify abortion and contraception in law. Help them understand the consequences of not taking control of both chambers of Congress by significant margins.

Talk to them about the evil of Fascist Christian Nationalism, because that movement is behind Trump with project 2025 and The Council for National Policy. Stream and watch this documentary with them:

https://www.badfaithdocumentary.com/

Show them what is happening in this country right now. See if they want to sit it out then.

The election is bigger than any issue they are pissed about, even Gaza. A very good place to start is The Warning with Steve Schmidt, right here on Substack, and on YouTube, and TicToc. He lays it out better than anyone.

Expand full comment

Exact same issue in my house. My 16-year-old is very far left and tells me plenty of young people won’t be voting, for the same reasons. We talk about this over and over. He’s genuinely freaked out about Project 2025; possibly that could be a way of connecting with younger voters? I also keep reminding him that this is a vote to not completely lose access to abortion, birth control, etc. I think one of the issues is that these kids, smart and as informed as they, seem to want Biden to fix these issues unilaterally. They watched Trump bully the government and the powers that be, and seem to want that from Biden.

Expand full comment

Excellent points, Jen. (Especially on the bullying!) ACK!

Expand full comment

My children are all grown. But, I had a discussion with my grandson who is 18 now and can vote for the first time. I asked him if he was registered, and he said no, When I told him he had to register by a specific date he told me he was not interested in voting, and I asked why. His response was. "why should I, neither party is doing anything, they have been in office now for 3 1/2 years and have not done anything." So, I asked him to sit down and I explained to him that the party in charge right now, the GOP who has the majority in the house, is the party responsible for getting the bills onto the floor for a vote and to get them passed so they can get to the Senate for a vote. I told him that right now, the GOP seems to only want to go after President Biden, the Biden family and other Democrats instead of passing bills that would benefit the American people. I told him that the only way to change this is for EVERYONE to vote and change the majority in the House so we have people there who are willing to fight for the American people and work towards getting bills pass that will benefit We The People. I said,, this is why EVERY vote counts. You think your vote doesn't count, but your one vote could be the one that makes that difference. When the conversation was over he looked at me and said, "wow, this is why you do the political work you do." I said yes and he thanked me for doing what I do. He is now registered to vote and will be at the polls casting his vote.

Expand full comment

My two kids are definitely upset about Gaza…and I am relieved that they also recognize that Trump would be disastrous on this issue as well as so many more. We talk a lot about how the current administration has been very productive and has implemented many “youthful” policies and programs, even if the President’s age is a concern. With issues like women’s reproductive rights, climate change, and gun violence on the table this election, they know when push comes to shove, they will vote for the President again.

Expand full comment

One more thing to tell your newly minted voters and their friends. You can tell them that the Supreme Court thinks so highly of their lives it overturned an ATF ban on bump stocks. The device that in effect turns an AR-15 into a machine gun. Remind them about the shooting in Las Vegas that killed 60 people. “A gunman using them had fired up to 1,000 rounds of ammunition in 11 minutes, killing 58 people and wounding about 500-2 died later.” Only a Democratically controlled Congress and President Biden can do something about this.

Parents need to take them and toss them into the deep end of reality!

Quoted text via “Letters From An American” 6/14/24

Expand full comment

This will be our son's first presidential election. To be honest, he's not really happy with either choice and is frustrated with President Biden.

Expand full comment