23 Comments

The single thing that is on my mind "globally" is the desire to see America's Democratic National Party launch a massive voter registration and voter turnout campaign fronted by young celebrities, (the obvious ones) and produced by Hollywood filmmakers that highlights the incredible stakes in this election. More personally, I'm trying to live a more balanced life between family, personal health, visits to the library, political engagement as a precinct delegate in Michigan, AND fun!

Expand full comment
Apr 27·edited Apr 27

Is our justice system ever going to find a way to deal with the former guy? Will our system of government survive the corruption of SCOTUS? Closer to home, I'm thoroughly enjoying being a grandmother to 2 amazing kids!

Expand full comment

I think the takeover of the Supreme Court by right-wing ideologists endangers our civil rights of protest, equality, free speech. These are the basics of democracy and without them our country will never reach its potential. Corporate takeover of real estate, government and the courts is another problem you don’ see in healthy democracies.

Expand full comment

The issue that keeps me up at night is the Israel/Gaza conflict. I’m Jewish and I want to support Israel, but I just want the hostages released and peace. I understand that I don’t understand all the complexities of the situation. October 7 felt like my heart was ripped out of my body, but so few people who are not Jewish seemed to even care about the atrocities that were committed. What’s happening to the people of Gaza is breaking my heart too. If I lived in Israel I would be out protesting against Netanyahu, but here in the US, I hear chants calling for the destruction of Israel and death of the Jewish people-at college campuses!

Expand full comment

On my mind the most, rampant antisemitism in America, especially on our college campuses. It's terrifying how things have exploded. On my mind at a personal level, aging. I feel like I turned 50 and am falling apart!

Expand full comment

I’m in nashville, so definitely the insane republican super majority who just passed a law at the end of session to arm teachers. But also trying to understand the Gaza protests especially at universities … & my oldest is graduating high school next month (so should sandy hook kids killed) & just trying to hold it all. ❤️

Expand full comment

Hello Sarah, your note caught my eye because I teach at a university with protests and I wondered what you wanted to understand about the Gaza protests at universities. My feeling is that the way it is being reported in the mainstream media is erroneous and fear-mongering, but would be interested to know your impression. FWIW our campus feels completely safe to me, with the police being the only potential violent presence.

I'm so sorry about the law passed in Tennessee. keeping children (and all of us) safe from guns is always close to my heart.

Expand full comment

I’m so proud of the students & professors protesting, & yes, just sad & angry & frustrated by the police brutality & that these protests are even necessary & required

Expand full comment

100% and fwiw I love working Gen Z and the young people give me a lot of hope. Those of you who raised them did a lot of things right!

Expand full comment

How the rich can hire attorneys who find all the loopholes to prevent their client from ever facing justice. If trump slips through all the criminal charges we as a country are doomed.

Expand full comment

I had to laugh at your post. I have never heard them called barnacles! How rude! My problem is not my bladder, but if I never have sex again, it will be a shame for both me and my poor husband, but right now - it is hands off! between the smell, the sweats, the dryness, and the lack of libido, I am thinking joining a convent might be easier than trying to figure it all out. I am on HRT (after going through perimenopause on nothing) and am like a teenager again (almost-I liked sex when I was a teenager), bloating, zits, and an occasional period. WFT is happening here??? We are working to get my progesterone dosage correct, but meanwhile and 15 pounds later...I am running out of steam.

Expand full comment

My biggest concerns relate to women's health and safety, from reproductive health to health studies centered on women to mental health and on-line misogyny to abuse, violence, assault. Where are we headed? On a personal note my biggest concern is for my 31 yo niece who has an 8 week old and just had a stroke - and see above on how my world concern became personal.

Expand full comment

My concerns are like a lot others here and I am also worried about our fatigue in general. There's such a barrage of negative energy and media - some of it is good because it's important for us to know what bad things are happening, so we can push back. There can be too much noise though and that allows people to "turn off". This coming November is so important to a lot of us and disengaging is not a good option. I would love to talk about how we "filter" news and ideas so our focus is 100% on what we need to battle the bad.

Expand full comment

I am glued to news about the Supreme Court and trump trial but sick at heart, too, as a Jew--about Israel and Gaza and mounting antisemitism. On a personal note, at 78 1/2 years old, I'm trying to be "really" retired with more time for my husband and granddaughter.

Expand full comment

Time. I am concerned about 1) the shrinking attention span of all ages, but particularly the young; and 2) the sprawling to-do list of adults coupled with the fleeting, uncertainty of life, an anxiety most likely amplified by the pandemic.

Expand full comment

I'm in Montana and am a co-chair of the Safety Levy Committee. School funding in our state needs re-working. Plus property taxes rose significantly this year, thanks to our governor. Many voters voice their frustration over taxes and believe they are sending a message to the governor/legislature by voting against the levy. Spring is here and the tulips and flowering trees are beautiful.

Expand full comment

What's not my mind? While the Israel/Hamas war and Ukraine/Russia take a large chunk, I also see see content in my feed about conflict all over that doesn't get as much attention and I wonder why it's so hard for us to give a shit about others.

Similarly at home, like may others here, I wonder why it's so hard for us to care about each other and just let everyone live their lives with bodily autonomy, the freedom to love who you am want and be left alone.

At home, I'm on the perimenopause train at 41 but without a provider that seems to give a shit and helping me to figure out the solution since I'm already on hormonal birth control. Again, why's it so hard to give a shit?

There's a lot more on my mind, but this is the core of it

Expand full comment

I’m disheartened to see the devolution into a Police State and Facism being acceptable by “liberals.” None of us are immune to their violence and they are building stronger police forces and cop cities because they know once the general public figured it out there will be a revolt. We really need to stop just protecting ourselves individually and look at what liberation for all of us could do. We outnumber them and who we elect matters at the city and state level too.

Expand full comment

I am a retired 66 year old mom to two adults sons. Along with my husband, we all live in Nashville after moving from NY 9 years ago. I became involved in Moms Demand Action after the Uvalde, TX shooting because I just couldn't take these shootings anymore without trying to do something about it. I attended Zoom meetings, rallies at the Capitol, starting following with Moms ans Students Demand Action at that time and learned so much about the guns laws, gun related deaths, etc. So in answer to your question, Shannon, I think that faced with all that info, and seeing so much on social media, I have become completely overwhelmed by it all. I know that being involved helps move things in the right direction but I and to start pulling back for my own well being. Most recently, I saw that Tennessee passed a bill to arm teachers in public schools. I just can't handle it. What is wrong with the people who propose and pass these insane laws? I have much to be grateful for and have a full life, we travel, I volunteer at a community preschool, we see our sons all the time and have a great social life here in Nashville but the direction this country and state are going in makes me very fearful for our future. I have to assume that others trying to make things better have the same fears and sadness and some forum to help us stay strong and keep fighting would be very helpful. Thanks for listening.

Expand full comment

My thoughts keep coming back to out growing inability to have non-polarized conversations. About anything. Biden/Trump, Gaza, immigration, student loans, AI, Ozempic, Taylor Swift... There is a constant drive to take sides. There is so much pressure to stake out a position. To defend it. It's exhausting.

Expand full comment

From one Susan to another, I get it. I joined a discussion group when Trump was elected the first time in order to figure out how our country could be so divided. It only made me realize that we are divided in just about every way - but some people are more polite about it than others. And others can only regurgitate the same rhetoric over and over again. I have practically given up on social media as I only get angry or sad.

Meanwhile, I am 55 and am definitely in a new phase of life. Friends are moving, kids are out of the house, and my body is trying to figure things out but not very successfully. I’m disappointed my dr did not discuss menopause more, I’m frustrated there are so few people talking about this…and I’m grateful to have found this group.

Expand full comment

It's like we're twins! Except I'm 58. I was chatting with a group of similarly aged women yesterday about a lot of the same. In our youth, they tell us about how our bodies are going to change, but no one explains how they change later. They tell you you're going to get pubic hair, but they don't tell you you're going lose it. What are these bumps on my face? Wait, we call them "barnacles"? Seriously? And, what the hell is happening to my bladder?

Expand full comment

There are so many critical issues in the world that it's overwhelming. I think most important is that I fear Biden is going to lose (and all the horrific chaos that will ensue if he does) because he continues to sell arms to Israel and support their genocide in Gaza. Young people are justifiably angry and willing to allow our democracy to die over this. No one in the white house seems willing to correct course on this issue.

Expand full comment